Business News

Emmys 2020: The Full Listing of Winners and Nominees

"Why should you have an awards show in the middle of a pandemic?" Jimmy Kimmel asked for a row of empty seats at the Staples Center as the Emmy Awards began on Sunday.

The ironic opener by Kimmel promises viewers a 72nd Emmy award like no other.

"No, seriously, why are we having an awards show in the middle of a pandemic?" he asks as the ABC team cut reaction shots and followed the laughter from previous Emmy ceremonies. "… What happens tonight doesn't matter. It won't stop Covid. It won't put out the fires. But it's fun and now we need fun. My God, we need fun. That was a miserable year. This was a year of division, injustice, illness, zoom school, disaster and death. "

The event has no audience or a red carpet. Instead, nominees have received their own camera kit to broadcast live from their living rooms as Hollywood is handing out trophies to television's top talent in the entertainment industry's first major ceremony since the coronavirus pandemic began.

A number of winners reminded audiences to register and vote during their speeches in November. In addition, nominees and winners wore various T-shirts with slogans such as "Vote", "Remember Her Name" and "Black Lives Matter".

Pop TV favorite "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" swept the comedy category on Sunday. Catherine O & # 39; Hara and Eugene Levy took home the awards for Best Actress and Best Actress in a Comedy Series. Dan Levy and Annie Murphy won Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy.

Dan Levy received the grand prize for writing a comedy series. Alongside Andrew Cividino, he won the award for best comedy director. The show also took home the Award for Outstanding Comedy Series.

"Schitt's Creek," which aired its sixth and final season earlier this year, had not previously won Emmy awards for the show. During the Creative Arts Emmys earlier this week, the show won awards for best casting and best contemporary costumes.

ABC Receives Emmy Trophy Comedy Winners by sending people in tuxedo hazmat suits home to nominees.

For Best Variety Talk Series Winner, ABC sent black boxes to each of the nominees with a promise that only the person who won would find an Emmy in them. John Oliver took home the award for "Last Week Tonight".

HBO dominated the limited series category, winning multiple awards for "Watchmen," including the best limited series, and an acting win for "I Know This Much Is True". Netflix also took a directing win for "Unorthodox" and Hulu won an acting for "Mrs. America".

And the winners are:

Leading actress in a comedy series:
WINNER: Catherine O & # 39; Hara – "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop-TV)
Christina Applegate – "Dead For Me" (Netflix)
Linda Cardellini – "Dead For Me" (Netflix)
Rachel Brosnahan – "The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel" (Amazon)
Issa Rae – "Unsure" (HBO)
Tracee Ellis Ross – "Blackish" (ABC)

Leading actor in a comedy series:
WINNER: Eugene Levy – "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop TV)
Anthony Anderson – "Black-ish" (ABC)
Don Cheadle – "Black Monday" (Showtime)
Ted Danson – "The Good Place" (NBC)
Michael Douglas – "The Kominsky Method" (Netflix)
Ramy Youssef – "Ramy" (Hulu)

Writing for a comedy series
WINNER: Dan Levy – "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop-TV)
Sam Johnson and Chris Marcil – "What We Do In The Shadows" (FX)
Tony McNamara – "The Great" (Hulu)
Stefani Robinson – "What We Do In The Shadows" (FX)
Michael Schur – "The Good Place" (NBC)
Paul Simms, "What We Do In The Shadows" (FX)
David West Read, "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop TV)

Directed a comedy series
WINNERS: Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy – "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop-TV)
James Burrows – "Will & Grace" (NBC)
Gail Mancuso – "Modern Family" (ABC)
Daniel Palladino – "The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel" (Prime Video)
Matt Shakman – "The Big One" (Hulu)
Amy Sherman-Palladino – "The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel" (Prime Video)
Ramy Youssef – "Ramy" (Hulu)

Supporting Actor, Comedy
WINNER: Dan Levy – – "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop-TV)
Mahershala Ali – "Ramy" (Hulu)
Alan Arkin – "The Kominsky Method" (Netflix)
Andre Braugher – "Brooklyn Nine-Nine" (NBC)
Sterling K. Brown – "The Wonderful Ms. Maisel" (Prime Video)
William Jackson Harper – "The Good Place" (NBC)
Tony Shalhoub – "The Wonderful Ms. Maisel" (Prime Video)
Kenan Thompson – "Saturday Night Live" (NBC)

Supporting Actress, Comedy
WINNER: Annie Murphy – "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop TV)
Alex Borstein – "The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel" (Prime Video)
Betty Gilpin – "GLOW" (Netflix)
D & # 39; Arcy Carden – "The Good Place" (NBC)
Marin Hinkle – "The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel" (Prime Video)
Kate McKinnon – "Saturday Night Live" (NBC)
Yvonne Orji – "Unsure" (HBO)
Cecily Strong – "Saturday Night Live" (NBC)

Best comedy series
WINNER: "Schitt & # 39; s Creek" (Pop TV)
"Curb Your Excitement" (HBO)
"Dead to Me" (Netflix)
"The Good Place" (NBC)
"Unsure" (HBO)
"The Kominsky Method" (Netflix)
"The wonderful Mrs. Maisel" (Amazon)
"What We Do In The Shadows" (FX)

Best Variety Talk Series
WINNER: "Last Week Tonight with John Oliver" (HBO)
"The Daily Show with Trevor Noah" (Comedy Central)
"Full front with Samantha Bee" (TBS)
"Jimmy Kimmel Live!" (ABC)
"The Late Show with Stephen Colbert" (CBS)

Best Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie
WINNER: Regina King – "Watchmen" (HBO)
Cate Blanchett – "Mrs. America" ​​(FX)
Shira Haas – "Unorthodox" (Netflix)
Octavia Spencer – "Homemade"
Kerry Washington – "Little Fires Everywhere" (Hulu)

Best Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie
WINNER: Mark Ruffalo – "I Know That Much Is True" (HBO)
Jeremy Irons – "Guardian" (HBO)
Hugh Jackman – "Bad Education" (HBO)
Paul Mescal – "Normal People" (Hulu)
Jeremy Pope – "Hollywood" (Netflix)

Writing for a limited series, film or drama special
WINNER: Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson
– – "Guardian" (HBO)
Tanya Barfield – "Woman America" ​​(Hulu)
Susannah Grant, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman – "Incredible" (Netflix)
Sally Rooney and Alice Birch – "Normal People" (Hulu)
Anna Winger – "Unorthodox" (Netflix)

Directed a limited series
WINNER: Maria Schrader
– – "Unorthodox" (Netflix)
Lenny Abrahamson – "Normal People" (Hulu)
Steph Green – "Guardian" (HBO)
Nicole Kassell – "Guardian" (HBO)
Lynn Shelton – "Little Fires Everywhere" (Hulu)
Stephen Williams – "Guardian" (HBO)

Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Film
WINNER: Yahya Abdul-Mateen II – "Guardian" (HBO)

Jovan Adepo – "Guardian" (HBO)
Tituss Burgess – "Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy Against the Reverend" (Netflix)
Louis Gossett Jr. – "Guardian" (HBO)
Dylan McDermott – "Hollywood" (Netflix)
Jim Parsons – "Hollywood" (Netflix)

Supporting actress, limited series or a film
WINNER: Uzo Aduba – "Mrs. America" ​​(Hulu)

Toni Collette – "Incredible" (Netflix)
Margo Martindale – "Woman America" ​​(Hulu)
Jean Smart – "Guardian" (HBO)
Holland Taylor – "Hollywood" (Netflix)
Tracey Ullman – "Woman America" ​​(Hulu)

Best limited series
WINNER: "Watchmen" (HBO)
"Little Fires Everywhere" (Hulu)
"Mrs. America" ​​(FX)
"Incredible" (Netflix)
"Unorthodox" (Netflix)

Best competition series
WINNER: "RuPaul & # 39; s Drag Race" (VH1)
"The Masked Singer" (Fox)
"Nailed It" (Netflix)
"Top Chef" (Bravo)
"The Voice" (NBC)

This story will be updated as soon as the winners are announced. Please try again.

Disclosure: Comcast is the parent company of NBCUniversal and CNBC.

Related Articles